top of page

"La Vie Est Belle"

And so you feel when you are in Paris. To be in this enchanting city at springtime is more than what I hoped for. I never liked metropolises because of all what comes with them: the traffic, the crowds in the streets, noise, fumes and dust...But Paris is somehow different. It's no use trying to explain, you really have to see it for yourself.

On Friday night we watched the show at the Crazy Horse. Saturday morning, we had tickets for the Eiffel tour and a cruise on the river Seine. The trees around the tower were in bloom and yet it was quite cold up at the top. The views, however, were spectacular. There is a pink notice with hearts at the very top that says "A place to kiss". Well, we did have a good look at it.

On the way to the cruise, we came across a street artist whom we gave money. When he saw me approaching, he waved with his hand, inviting me to stand next to him and have a photo taken. Then he hugged me with a strong arm (I was quite surprised!) and held out his thumb. I was more than happy to follow his lead.

A view from the boat

In one of the windows, we saw someone peeking

You can come across many beautiful carousels all around. You simply just do not know where to look. Every corner hides an enchanting lamp, an elaborate facade or a tiny, exquisite detail.

And Sunday was all about the Louvre. This is the view from underneath the main entrance, the glass pyramid. The French Renaissance look hides a very modern interior.

Nearly all the ceilings are decorated/painted in the style below. I have taken many pictures, but this was by far my favourite.

Of course, here I thought: "Oh, if only I had one of those in my bedroom!" Louis XIV chamber photos to follow.

I simply adore chandeliers. And just look at that ceiling detail!

Approaching Napoleon's chambers...

Napoleon's Grand Hall

How about this dressing table?

We managed to see many famous artworks on Sunday. From all of them, Venus de Milo was one I could have sat in front of for hours. I couldn't believe how beautiful I found her to be. With today's ideals, she is far from perfect, but to me she embodied everything I find beautiful in a woman. Interestingly enough, I thought I might have high expectations, the statue is overrated etc., but it is stunning. Have you ever seen it?

After the Louvre we had a little time left, and I wished by all means to visit the Notre Dame, which was not too far away as I remembered. So we headed thay way next.

We got there at a very good time of the year, as it was Palm Sunday. There was a huge mass inside and the cathedral was full. It was serving its full purpose, just drawing you in. People were singing, there were candles everywhere, and incense filled the air. And just then, as we were walking down one of the dimly lit aisles, the bells started to chime! I never heard the sound of the Notre Dame before.

Leaving the cathedral, we noticed a little chalet that was squeezed between two taller, more moden buildings. It reminded me of Up!, the animation. I just adore idyllic little cottages like this one.

So I decided to see what it is like to sit in front of it. Yes, I could definitely imagine myself living in one of these lovely little chalets.

Even though we were on our feet since 9 am that morning and spent nearly 6 hours walking in the Louvre only, the city is so far beyond captivating, that we decided to take a walk back home along the bank of the Seine. It was a breathtaking journey.

Follow Me:

  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle

Recent Posts: 

Search ByTags: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page