top of page

5+1 Baby Swimming Tips: How To Help Your Little One Enjoy the Water


Rosie: "Hmm...Let's see how this will go..."


If you have never taken your baby/small child to the swimming pool/seaside, you might be in for a surprise if you go unprepared. I love swimming, and naturally, I assumed that my baby will be a little fish in the sea. Well, was I in for a surprise!


This might sound somewhat strange, but I could not swim until I was 20-something. My father used to participate in swimming competitions, but somehow I never mastered this skill as a child. His love for the sport however helped me not to be afraid of the water. The terrible part of it though was that my friends and I spent whole summers by the swimming pool - well, at least I did. They were in the water, and I was watching them. Then one day, they decided to have some fun, so they grabbed me by the arms and we jumped into the deepest part of the pool!


By the time I realised what had happened, I was on the surface of the water. My friends did not let me go, and we stayed near the edge of the swimming pool, so I could easily grab on. I was a little bit in shock for the split second when I realised we are jumping in, but truth be told, I was grateful after emerging. I decided then I would learn how to swim if it's the last thing I do.


When Rosie was born, I wanted to see if she liked the water. Her expression in the photo below is a little hint! The reason I took her to swimming classes was that I wanted her to avoid all the struggle of learning as an adult, to enjoy the water on a holiday by the sea, but mainly, to keep her safe. The day my friends jumped into the water with me I realised how dangerous it can be if you don't know how to swim. There are numerous situations where you can end up in the water in an instant.

"Oh, no! I don't want to!!!!"

One fine morning, Rosie, mum and I set off to our first swimming class. Luckily, I spoke to a dear friend beforehand, who warned me that my daughter might not like the water straight away. She told me she took her little one on a holiday by the sea, but unfortunately, things did not go well. Her daughter hated the water; she was screaming among the waves and spent most of the holiday on the shore, never going near the sea.


And as soon as we arrived to the baby swimming pool, Rosie started crying. In fact, she was the only baby crying all the way through...In the next lesson, and the one after that, too. But we managed to work out what was wrong, and by the end of the course, everything was running smoothly.

"Let's give it a go!"

Swimming tip nr. 1: Choose the best time of the day for your baby


Going at the right time to the pool solves almost half of the problem. It took us a few attempts to work out if this was the issue or not. After a few lessons, I considered not taking Rosie anymore, because I thought she might not like the water. Then I asked for an afternoon lesson, and Rosie thoroughly enjoyed the class. She was a completely different baby. If your baby falls asleep immediately after the lesson, as soon as you put her in the car seat/pram, the timing is wrong. So don't give up after a lesson or two, see if your child has more energy in the morning, or in the afternoon.


Swimming tip nr. 2: Food and sleep


Even though the lessons are only 30 minute long, they are quite exhausting for a small child who does not yet have the stamina of an adult. Make sure the baby has eaten and slept as closely to the time of the lesson as possible. They need to have strength; a hungry baby will not endure the 30 minutes. Be careful with the food though, because if the baby eats just before the lesson, she might be sick in the swimming pool. Whenever I did not feed Rosie in the hour before the lesson, the crying has begun earlier and earlier in the pool. And take extra food with you, as the baby will be very hungry after the splash!


Swimming tip nr. 3: Swimwear


Make sure you choose good quality swimsuits. For yourself for the reason the baby might pull on it. And for the baby - crucial! With neoprene lining. You do not want anything to emerge out of her swimming pants and float on the surface of the water...No, it did not happen to us, although I was a little worried. After washing her pants in the washing machine, the top part of it that goes around the tummy loosened up; I noticed this of course after we entered the swimming pool. Quality is imperative here!!! Most classes offer to buy the equipment from them. Might be a little more expensive, however, you might have to buy twice otherwise...

"Ok mum, whatever you say..."

Swimming tip nr. 4: Your bag contents


After Rosie's swimsuit soaked her nappy through as well, I did not have a spare one in my bag. Very silly of me. I thought that one nappy would be enough for a 30-minute lesson.

So assume anything can happen and double up on everything you usually take: nappies (for the pool and regular ones after the lesson), food, water, clothing (swimsuit). You'll need towels for both of you, slippers for yourself, and some bags you can take the wet things home in.


Swimming tip nr. 5: Relax


One of the most important things is not to panic. Just like in any other situation, if you feel worried or stressed out, chances are that your baby will feel the same, too. I was concerned if Rosie would like the water, if I was doing the exercises correctly, if she ate and drank enough etc. Instead, I should have focused only on her and the teacher's words. My mind was constantly racing and worrying. And I did work her up, too, moving sometimes nervously and glancing around with worry.

So relax. Between the housework and endless other chores there is not always time to focus on just the two of you. Take this time therefore to concentrate on your little one and enjoy every moment of it. Make it a special hour of the week: it will recharge your batteries and your baby will have a great time!


Bonus tip: Yourself


As mothers, we are always the last ones to go to bed, have a shower or eat. If you have mastered tip nr. 5 and you are having a good time with your little one in the swimming pool, do something a little extra for yourself: do your hair, add some earrings or pick a bright-coloured swimsuit. Make it just a little bit special. When I do my hair the way you see it in the photos, I can work all day and sleep in it, and any time I undo it, I have a full, set hairstyle. And it's so easy to do - I took it to the level of doing it in 5 minutes! So you kill two birds with one stone!


This week we went to the swimming pool and I was wearing my glamorous, red Pinup Girl Clothing swimsuit, and Rosie her glamorous!, red Swimbest pants just as you see in the photos. Needless to say, all the assistants were around us to help with the pram straightaway, and even the poolside photographer wouldn't let us go for a good while. We had a great time, and I believe that the worries of being afraid of the water are gone!


"Hey,! It wasn't so bad after all! Bye-bye!"

Let us know if you liked our tips, and do share some more! Until next time, happy swims!!! xoxox


Swimsuits:

Pinup Girl Clothing Glamour Swimsuit in Red

Swimbest

Earrings and scarf:

Vintage


Follow Me:

  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle

Recent Posts: 

Search ByTags: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page