top of page

Springtime thoughts

For a long time, yellow was at the very top of my list of all the colours disliking the most. Somehow it always reminded me of plastic. The other two really not favourites were pink and purple. Very artificial, I thought. Yet again, I guess tastes change over time. So now I love pink pastels, the yellow shade of daffodils, spring flowers, lemons, suns and sunshine that children draw in school. Yellow hues in particular remind me of warm springtime.

Seeing this lovely crochet dress in a shop window a few weeks ago, just when the weather was turning for the better, I simply fell in love with it. My mother loves to crochet, and she used to make all kinds of sweet things for us when we were little: dresses, blouses, slippers, small toys...Wearing it is like going back in time for me. The dress is so comfortable that I cannot even describe it. When I put it on, I feel like walking in a field of daffodils.

I have a lovely memory of it, too. One morning I woke up and went to the little shop on the corner to buy bread for breakfast, and I quickly slipped into this sunshine dress. I put on my vintage earrings I got as a gift from my mother-in-law. As I entered the shop, I could feel the crispy smell of fresh bread and I saw bunches of daffodils near the entrance. Of course I had to buy some. The sun was shining, I was walking home smiling, with the bread and the daffodils in my hand. I felt then that life was good. I met only three or four people on the way home, but all of them looked at me and smiled back. One of them was an elderly gentleman. He had the widest smile, and as we passed each other, he lifted his hat and nodded gently. Life really can be beautiful.

Beautiful Rye in the spring


Follow Me:

  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle

Recent Posts: 

Search ByTags: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page