top of page

A Walk Among Enchanting Bluebells

There is this one time of the year when the bluebell forest comes to life, and the floor of the woods turns into an enchanting purplish-blue colour. A myriad of bell-shaped blooms raise their little heads as they come into existence, spreading all around along the windy path. It is a rare opportunity, as they hide underneath the shady old trees and stay around for only a short time. So if you decide to see them, you haven't got too much time.

Last weekend was a sunny one, and we agreed that it would be such a shame to stay at home. It wasn't questionable, though, as to where we would go. The bluebells were in full bloom, and Andy suggested that we could take some pictures. Although I loved the idea, I was somewhat sad because I was trying to find a lovely floral dress, possibly blue. There was nothing in the shops, and as I looked through my wardrobe, there wasn't anything I could picture. Then Andy said: "But you have a pretty blue dress we bought a few years ago when we travelled home." And it occurred to me that he was right - another great idea. I looked into my other wardrobe where I keep the less worn clothes, and there it was: the perfect blue floral dress.

In return I suggested to Andy to bring his fishing rod as I know how much he loves to cast in once in a while. When we arrived to the trail, we caught a few smiling glances: Andy was dressed up fully for fishing, and I was wearing a floral dress with heels and a petticoat. Everyone else was in jeans and wellies.

After fishing and sunbathing on the bank of the Cuckmere river, we went into the forest to take some photos. It was sunny, but fresh. Again, some smiling glances ensued, but we did not really care. We were having a good time, up to the point I took my coat off and lied down onto the blue carpet of flowers. As I was smiling into the camera, I saw from the corner of my eye that we were not alone anymore. As I turned my head slowly, I saw through the stems a curious little girl on her tiptoes, mouth open, looking at me. She saw that Andy was looking at something in the grass and came to see what it was. I smiled at her, then she ran back to her parents. We laughed, and carried on to what turned out to be a lovely walk. I am sure we will return next year, too.



Follow Me:

  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle

Recent Posts: 

Search ByTags: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page